The Secretary is the chief legislative officer of the Senate. In this role, they are responsible for administering and managing all legislative functions of the Senate, as well as overseeing numerous financial and administrative functions related to their operation. They lead a team comprised of approximately 80 Institutional employees in 8 cross-functional departments of the Senate, which serve all Senate Members and staff.

The Secretary directs the following functions, which are executed by their legislative operations team:

  • amending bills in the Senate
  • creating the daily session Bill and Executive Nominations Calendars
  • creating the Supplemental Calendars
  • keeping record of all Senate action on bills and resolutions
  • maintaining committee reports
  • managing, updating and publishing the Senate History
  • numbering, introducing and transmitting to committee all Senate bills and resolutions
  • posting of roll call votes
  • posting of Senate Journals
  • transmitting all Senate messages/communications, bills and resolutions to the House of Representatives
  • sunshining committee meetings.

Additionally, the Secretary certifies as to the passage of Senate Bills and the approval of Executive Nominations.

Importantly, in addition to their legislative operations team, the Secretary has the following Senate Departments in their charge:

* This department is jointly supervised with the House Parliamentarian

Each Department is led by a Director and Deputy.

Our Contacts

  • 462 Main Capitol Building,
    Harrisburg, PA 17120

  • (717) 787-5920

  • Working hours: 9AM - 5PM